CSECS Awards 2023

The D.W. Smith fellowship attracted excellent applications this year. It is our great pleasure to announce the names of the two recipients for 2023:

Amelia Mills (English Department, Loughborough University).
Project title: “Aphra Behn, translation, and disseminating ideas”

Dr. Mills’ project on the French translations of the works of Aphra Behn and their dissemination in French salons in England promises to contribute to a better understanding of cultural transfers between France and England at the turn of the 17th and 18th centuries. The D. W. Smith fellowship will support a three-week research trip to the BnF and assist Dr. Mills while she works on the transformation of her recently defended thesis into a book manuscript. 

Jolène A. Bureau (History Department, Université du Québec à Montréal)
Project title: « Les voix oubliées des femmes de la Montagne »

With this project, Dr. Bureau proposes to study a collection of overlooked texts written by significant witnesses and actors of the French Revolution such as Charlotte Robespierre, Éléonore Duplay, Élisabeth Duplay-Le Bas, Rosalie Jullien, Simonne Évrard, and Albertine Marat. Thanks to the D. W. Smith fellowship, Dr. Bureau plans to produce a critical edition of some of these texts and contribute to a better understanding of the role of these women as citizen and political voices during the revolutionary period.

We look forward to seeing these two projects develop!

We are also happy to share that Caitlin Sturrock has been selected to be this year’s recipient of the Tom Keymer CSECS Award. The bursary of $500 which comes with this award will be used by Caitlin to attend our upcoming annual CSECS conference and present a paper on Denis Diderot’s Supplément au voyage de Bougainville.

Back to news list